Eighteen Education Leaders and Scholars Elected to the National Academy of Education

Mar 10, 2023

The National Academy of Education announced today that 18 exceptional education leaders and scholars are elected to membership in the Academy. The new members listed below represent a wide range of expertise in education research and policy:

Michael Bastedo, University of Michigan

Marina Bers, Boston College

Amanda Datnow, University of California, San Diego

John Diamond, Brown University

Suzanne Donovan, Strategic Education Research Partnership Institute

Heather Hill, Harvard University

Mary Helen Immordino-Yang, University of Southern California

Joseph Kahne, University of California, Riverside

Felice Levine, American Educational Research Association

Scott Marion, National Center for the Improvement of Educational Assessment

Danielle McNamara, Arizona State University

Andrew Meltzoff, University of Washington

Roslyn Mickelson, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Jeffrey Milem, University of California, Santa Barbara

Karen Murphy, Pennsylvania State University

Fernando Reimers, Harvard University

Peter Smagorinsky, University of Georgia

Maisha Winn, University of California, Davis

The National Academy of Education advances high quality education research and its use in policy and practice. The Academy consists of U.S. members and international associates who are elected based on outstanding scholarship or leadership related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual Academy members once a year for review and election by the organization’s membership. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in the Academy’s professional development fellowship programs.

Carol Lee, president of the National Academy of Education said: “This diverse group of leaders and scholars is at the forefront of those who are improving the lives of students in the United States and abroad. At a time of great tension and political debate surrounding education, these leaders are building a strong foundation of knowledge and evidence for ways to improve education policy and practice.”


Contact: Gregory White, Executive Director (gwhite@naeducation.org)

Latest news

Remembering Thomas Romberg

Remembering Thomas Romberg

were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Thomas Romberg on September 3, 2023. Below is an obituary by Gunderson (source). Dr. Thomas A. Romberg, age 90, of Fitchburg, passed away on Sunday, Sept. 3, 2023, at The Waterford in Fitchburg. He was born on Dec. 22,...

Remembering Robert LeVine

Remembering Robert LeVine

We were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Robert LeVine in August 2023. Below is a tribute to his life and career by Harvard's Graduate School of Education (source). HGSE is mourning the loss of longtime faculty member and researcher Professor Emeritus Robert...

A Message of Support for Maui

The National Academy of Education extends its heartfelt condolences to all affected by the devastating wildfire on the island of Maui earlier this week. As a nation, we mourn the profound losses of loved ones, homes, and livelihoods and feel the weight of the personal...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This