The National Academy of Education is dedicated to advancing the highest quality education research. The Research Advisory Committee (RAC), charged with setting the research agenda for the organization, is instrumental in identifying and developing new research program ideas, and in providing guidance to projects in their early stages of development.

Please contact Amy Berman for research initiative inquiries.

Current Initiatives

2016-annual-meetingReaping the Rewards of the IES Reading for Understanding (RFU) Initiative

The IES awarded the NAEd a three-year grant to develop insights and implications concerning the RFU initiative. The purpose of this project is to follow through on the promise of the RFU to make sure that what has been learned from this effort continues to benefit education research and practice. The committee will produce a report, which based on proceedings of the meetings and papers commissioned by the committee, will provide a foundation for subsequent publications (and possibly other products) highlighting usable findings from across the projects.

Study on Comparability of Large-Scale Educational Assessments

The NAEd is engaged in a project funded by Smarter Balanced/University of California Santa Cruz to examine Common Core assessment consortia and other large-scale assessment programs regarding how much and what types of flexibility in assessment content and procedures can be allowed, while maintaining comparability across jurisdictions and student populations.

The Role of Education Research and Practice in Civic Discourse and Reasoning

Contact Greg White for more information.

The NAEd has recently convened a committee to develop a proposal on civic reasoning and debate. The committee is chaired by Carol Lee, and its members include: James Banks, Sarah Freedman, Dianna Hess, Joseph Kahne, Peter Levine, Na’ilah Nasir, Walter Parker, Judith Torney-Purta.

Workshop and Edited Volume with the American Academy of Political and Social Science (AAPSS) The ANNALS: What Use is Educational Assessment?

Contact Amy Berman for more information.

The NAEd and the American Academy of Political and Social Science (AAPSS) held a workshop focused on assessment issues that will culminate in a May 2019 edition of the AAPSS The ANNALS. The workshop aimed to provide an updated account of the status of testing in American schools as a foundation for improved policy thinking in the decades ahead. Click here for more details.

Methods and Policy Uses of International Large-Scale Assessments 

Although there is widespread recognition that ILSAs can provide useful information, there is debate about what types of comparisons are the most meaningful and what could be done to assure more sound interpretations. To address these issues, the National Academy of Education (NAEd) assembled a Steering Committee to examine the future of ILSAs from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. The committee held two workshops, commissioned a series of papers, and has produced a summary report available for download.

RAC Members

  • David Kaplan (Chair)
    University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Henry Braun
    Boston College
  • Glynda Hull
    University of California, Berkeley
  • William F. Tate IV 
    Washington University in St. Louis
  • Noreen Webb 
    University of California, Los Angeles
  • Amy Berman (ex officio)
    National Academy of Education
  • Michael Feuer (ex officio)
    The George Washington University
  • Gloria Ladson-Billings (ex officio)
    University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Heidi Schweingruber (ex officio)
    National Academy of Sciences DBASSE
  • Gregory White (ex officio)
    National Academy of Education

Recent & Featured

Please follow the link for a full list of our publications.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This