Eleven Elected to Membership in the National Academy of Education

Feb 24, 2016

Dr. Michael Feuer, Dean of the Graduate School of Education and Human Development at The George Washington University and President of the National Academy of Education (NAEd), announced today that eleven exceptional education scholars were elected to membership in the NAEd:

The new members, listed here, are leading researchers and educators with wide-ranging expertise:

  • Ron Avi Astor, University of Southern California
  • Joan L. Herman, National Center for Research
  • Glynda A. Hull, University of California, Berkeley
  • Deanna Kuhn, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • K. Tsianina Lomawaima, Arizona State University
  • Henrietta Mann, Cheyenne Arapaho Tribal College
  • Russell Rumberger, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Anna Sfard, University of Haifa
  • Carola Suárez-Orozco, University of California, Los Angeles
  • William F. Tate IV, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Carol Camp Yeakey, Washington University in St. Louis

“It is my pleasure to welcome these leaders who represent the rich diversity of fields that study education,” Feuer said.

The National Academy of Education (NAEd) advances high quality education research and its use in policy formation and practice. Celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2015, the NAEd consists of 199 U.S. members and 11 foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual Academy members once a year for review and election by the organization’s membership. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs such as the NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the NAEd/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship Program.

Latest News

Webinar: How to Improve Student Social-Emotional Well-Being

On Tuesday, June 18, from 12:00-1:30pm ET, join the National Academy of Education and the Equity Assistance Center-South at the Southern Education Foundation for a webinar exploring the importance social-emotional learning and behavioral health...

Congratulations to the 2024 NAEd/Spencer Fellowship Recipients!

The National Academy of Education (NAEd) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2024 NAEd/Spencer Dissertation and Postdoctoral Fellowships. These fellowships provide funding and professional development to early-career scholars whose projects address critical...

Gloria Ladson-Billings on 60 Minutes

We are excited to share that on Sunday, May 5th, "60 Minutes" will air an inspiring segment featuring Gloria Ladson-Billings, the immediate past president of the National Academy of Education (NAEd) and co-chair of our committee addressing educational inequities in...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This