Feb 20, 2020

February 20, 2020 – Gloria Ladson-Billings, President of the National Academy of Education (NAEd), announced today that fifteen exceptional education scholars are elected to membership in the Academy. The new members, listed here, are leading researchers and educators with wide ranging expertise:

  • Patricia Alexander, University of Maryland
  • Mark Berends, University of Notre Dame
  • Cynthia E. Coburn, Northwestern University
  • Rubén Donato, University of Colorado
  • Ronald K. Hambleton, University of Massachusetts
  • Margaret A. Honey, New York Hall of Science
  • Kirabo Jackson, Northwestern University
  • Rucker Johnson, University of California, Berkeley
  • Gregory Kelly, Pennsylvania State University
  • Michal Kurlaender, University of California, Davis
  • Melvin L. Oliver, Pitzer College
  • Christine E. Sleeter, California State University, Monterey Bay
  • Daniel G. Solorzano, University of California Los Angeles
  • Mark Warschauer, University of California, Irvine
  • Yong Zhao, University of Kansas

“This diverse group of scholars are at the forefront of those who are improving the lives of students in the United States and abroad through their outstanding contributions to education scholarship and research,” Ladson-Billings said.

An induction ceremony for new members will take place during the 2020 NAEd Annual Meeting in November.

The NAEd advances high quality education research and its use in policy and practice. The Academy consists of U.S. members and international associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual Academy members once a year for review and election by the organization’s membership. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs.

Latest news

Remembering Thomas Romberg

Remembering Thomas Romberg

were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Thomas Romberg on September 3, 2023. Below is an obituary by Gunderson (source). Dr. Thomas A. Romberg, age 90, of Fitchburg, passed away on Sunday, Sept. 3, 2023, at The Waterford in Fitchburg. He was born on Dec. 22,...

Remembering Robert LeVine

Remembering Robert LeVine

We were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Robert LeVine in August 2023. Below is a tribute to his life and career by Harvard's Graduate School of Education (source). HGSE is mourning the loss of longtime faculty member and researcher Professor Emeritus Robert...

A Message of Support for Maui

The National Academy of Education extends its heartfelt condolences to all affected by the devastating wildfire on the island of Maui earlier this week. As a nation, we mourn the profound losses of loved ones, homes, and livelihoods and feel the weight of the personal...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This