Fourteen Elected to Membership in the National Academy of Education

Feb 28, 2017

Dr. Michael Feuer, Dean of the Graduate School of Education and Human Development at The George Washington University and President of the National Academy of Education (NAEd), announced today that fourteen exceptional education scholars were elected to membership in the NAEd.

The new members, listed here, are leading researchers and educators with wide ranging expertise:

  • Estela Bensimon, University of Southern California
  • Norman Bradburn, University of Chicago and American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Charles Brainerd, Cornell University
  • Henry Braun, Boston College
  • David Figlio, Northwestern University
  • Megan Franke, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Vivian Gadsden, University of Pennsylvania
  • Megan Gunnar, University of Minnesota
  • Chandra Muller, The University of Texas, Austin
  • Na’ilah Nasir, University of California, Berkeley
  • Diana Pullin, Boston College
  • Morton Schapiro, Northwestern University
  • Edward Silver, University of Michigan
  • Elliot Turiel, University of California, Berkeley

“The election of new members to the Academy is a testament to their scholarly contributions in a wide range of areas, and to our abiding commitment to infuse education policy debates with knowledge from research. It is a pleasure and honor to welcome them,” Feuer said.

An induction ceremony for new members will take place during the 2017 NAEd Annual Meeting Dinner in November.

The National Academy of Education (NAEd) advances high quality education research and its use in policy and practice. The NAEd consists of 209 U.S. members and 11 foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual Academy members once a year for review and election by the organization’s membership. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs such as the NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the NAEd/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship Program.

To view a PDF version of this press release, please click here.

Latest news

Remembering Thomas Romberg

Remembering Thomas Romberg

were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Thomas Romberg on September 3, 2023. Below is an obituary by Gunderson (source). Dr. Thomas A. Romberg, age 90, of Fitchburg, passed away on Sunday, Sept. 3, 2023, at The Waterford in Fitchburg. He was born on Dec. 22,...

Remembering Robert LeVine

Remembering Robert LeVine

We were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Robert LeVine in August 2023. Below is a tribute to his life and career by Harvard's Graduate School of Education (source). HGSE is mourning the loss of longtime faculty member and researcher Professor Emeritus Robert...

A Message of Support for Maui

The National Academy of Education extends its heartfelt condolences to all affected by the devastating wildfire on the island of Maui earlier this week. As a nation, we mourn the profound losses of loved ones, homes, and livelihoods and feel the weight of the personal...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This