Nine Elected to Membership in the National Academy of Education

Feb 28, 2018

Dr. Gloria Ladson-Billings, Professor Emerita, University of Wisconsin, Madison and President of the National Academy of Education (NAEd), announced today that nine exceptional education scholars were elected to membership in the NAEd.

The new members, listed here, are leading researchers and educators with wide ranging expertise:

  • Walter Allen, University of California-Los Angeles
  • Wade Boykin, Jr., Howard University
  • Bryan McKinley Jones Brayboy, Arizona State University
  • Dorothy L. Espelage, University of Florida
  • Ofelia Garcia, The Graduate Center, City University of New York
  • Walter C. Parker, University of Washington
  • Yossi Shavit, Tel Aviv University
  • Vanessa Siddle Walker, Emory University
  • Frank C. Worrell, University of California, Berkeley

“It is a pleasure to welcome these pre-eminent leaders from a diverse range of academic fields — they are each being recognized for their extraordinary contributions to education research and policy helping to improve the lives of students in the United States and abroad,” Ladson-Billings said.

An induction ceremony for new members will take place during the 2018 NAEd Annual Meeting Dinner in November.

The National Academy of Education (NAEd) advances high quality education research and its use in policy and practice. The NAEd consists of 215 U.S. members and 13 foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual Academy members once a year for review and election by the organization’s membership. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs such as the NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the NAEd/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship Program.

Latest news

Remembering Thomas Romberg

Remembering Thomas Romberg

were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Thomas Romberg on September 3, 2023. Below is an obituary by Gunderson (source). Dr. Thomas A. Romberg, age 90, of Fitchburg, passed away on Sunday, Sept. 3, 2023, at The Waterford in Fitchburg. He was born on Dec. 22,...

Remembering Robert LeVine

Remembering Robert LeVine

We were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Robert LeVine in August 2023. Below is a tribute to his life and career by Harvard's Graduate School of Education (source). HGSE is mourning the loss of longtime faculty member and researcher Professor Emeritus Robert...

A Message of Support for Maui

The National Academy of Education extends its heartfelt condolences to all affected by the devastating wildfire on the island of Maui earlier this week. As a nation, we mourn the profound losses of loved ones, homes, and livelihoods and feel the weight of the personal...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This