February 7, 2019 – Gloria Ladson-Billings, President of the National Academy of Education (NAEd), announced today that sixteen exceptional education scholars were elected to membership in the Academy.

The new members, listed here, are leading researchers and educators with wide ranging expertise:

  • Alfredo Artiles, Arizona State University
  • Arnetha Ball, Stanford University
  • Rami Benbenishty, Bar Ilan University
  • Howard Bloom, MDRC
  • John Fantuzzo, University of Pennsylvania
  • Diana Hess, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Sylvia Hurtado, UCLA
  • Joseph Krajcik, Michigan State University
  • Nonie Lesaux, Harvard University
  • Bridget Long, Harvard University
  • Teresa McCarty, UCLA
  • William Penuel, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Laura Perna, University of Pennsylvania
  • Cybele Raver, New York University
  • Diane Whitmore Schanzenbach, Northwestern University
  • Stanton Wortham, Boston College

“This diverse group of scholars are being recognized for their extraordinary contributions to education research and policy. These leaders are at the forefront of those helping to improve the lives of students in the United States and abroad,” Ladson-Billings said.

An induction ceremony for new members will take place during the 2019 NAEd Annual Meeting Dinner in November.

The NAEd advances high quality education research and its use in policy and practice. The Academy consists of U.S. members and foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual Academy members once a year for review and election by the organization’s membership. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This